Opening Ceremony and Awards

SIGGRAPH 2019 officially opens with a welcome from Conference Chair Mikki Rose, remarks from ACM SIGGRAPH leadership, and the presentation of the ACM SIGGRAPH Awards, which recognize individuals who have made a significant contribution to the computer graphics community through their research, teaching, service, or writing.

ACM SIGGRAPH 2019 Awards

ACM SIGGRAPH presents nine awards to recognize exceptional achievements in computer graphics and interactive techniques. The awards are presented at the annual SIGGRAPH North American conference. For more information about the awards and the individuals being honored, please visit their awards page.

The Steven Anson Coons Award

Michael F. Cohen

The Computer Graphics Achievement Award

Denis Zorin
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University

The Significant New Researcher Award

Wenzel Jakob
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

The Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

Lingqi Yan
University of California, Berkeley

Honorable Mentions
Angela Dai
Stanford University

Hao Su
Stanford University

Adriana Schulz

The Outstanding Service Award

Jackie White

The Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement in Digital Art

Donna Cox
University of Illinois

ACM SIGGRAPH Practitioner Award

Stephen Hill

ACM SIGGRAPH Distinguished Educator Award

Andries van Dam
Brown University


  • Frederick Brooks
  • Marie-Paule Cani
  • Donna Cox
  • Markus Gross
  • Dinesh Manocha
  • Ravi Ramamoorthi
  • Hanan Samet
  • Denis Zorin

SIGGRAPH Conference Awards

SIGGRAPH Conference Award recipients will be announced during the ceremony.

Computer Animation Festival: Best in Show

Computer Animation Festival: Jury Choice

Computer Animation Festival: Best Student

Art Gallery Best in Show

Art Papers Best in Show

Emerging Technologies Best in Show

Immersive Best in Show